MINUTES LOWER REPUBLICAN NATURAL RESOURCES DISTRICT

30 North John Street, Alma, NE Immediately following the 7pm Variance Hearing May 8th, 2014 @ 7PM

Board of Directors Meeting

A notice of the meeting was published in the local newspapers within the District and on the District Website at <u>www.lrnrd.org</u>.

INFORMATIONAL MATERIAL MAILED OUT PRIOR TO THE MEETING

- 1. Agenda, 5/14
- 2. LRNRD Board Meeting, Variance Hearing Minutes, & Index of Decisions, 4/14
- 3. Treasurer's Report, 4/14
- 4. Manager's Report
- 5. Assistant Manager's Report
- 6. NRCS Report
- 7. Variance Request
 - a.) Youngquist Farms #215
 - b.) Dorene Hinrichs & Thomas & Susie Hitchcock #216
- 8. Change in Location of Certified Acres on Contiguous Property
 - a.) Kern Porter
 - b.) Bart Woodward f.) Steven L'Heureux
 - c.) Ben Bunger g.) James Olson
 - d.) Ron Fritson
- 9. Rural Water District Treasurer Report, 4/14

MATERIALS HANDED OUT AT THE MEETING:

- 1. Agenda, 5/14
- 2. District Static Water Level Measurements
- 3. Letter to the Editor

Chairperson Marlin Murdoch called the meeting of the Lower Republican NRD Board of Directors to order at 7:15PM. Murdoch noted that guests should sign the attendance roster and noted the location of a current copy of the statutes dealing with public meetings laws and the booklet with the information provided to directors.

e.) Roger Volk

Directors present: Clark Andrews, Dave Bartels, Matt Harrison, Tim Kahrs, Marlin Murdoch, Roger Nelson, Toby tenBensel, Nelson Trambly.

Absent: Bill Bose, Terry Hoit, Brad Wulf.

Others present: Troy Fletcher, Oxford, Garrett Sharp, Blue Hill, Bryan Biskup, Orleans, Royce Bose, Orleans, Greg Frecks, Hildreth, Nolan Little, Tri-Basin NRD.. Staff present: Mike Clements, Bryan Lubeck, Shirlee Poyser, Kristi Coe.

Motion #1 by Matt Harrison seconded by Roger Nelson to approve the April Board and Variance Minutes as presented. Motion carried. Ayes 8 - Clark Andrews, Dave Bartels, Matt Harrison, Tim Kahrs, Marlin Murdoch, Roger Nelson, Toby tenBensel, Nelson Trambly. Nays 0. Absent 3 – Bill Bose, Terry Hoit, Brad Wulf.

Motion #2 by Matt Harrison seconded by Toby tenBensel to approve the LRNRD Treasurer's Report as presented. Motion carried. Ayes 8 - Dave Bartels, Matt Harrison, Tim Kahrs, Marlin Murdoch, Roger Nelson, Toby tenBensel, Nelson Trambly, Clark Andrews. Nays 0. Absent 3 – Bill Bose, Terry Hoit, Brad Wulf.

Mike Clements gave his manager report. A copy of this report is in the minute book.

Bryan Lubeck gave his assistant managers' report. Bryan discussed tree planting and the Average Static Water Level Changes for the District. Copies of these reports are in the minute book.

The NRCS report was mailed out prior to the meeting. A copy of this report is in the minute book.

Motion #3 by Matt Harrison seconded by Clark Andrews to approve the variance request #215 for Youngquist Farms. Motion carried. Ayes 8 - Matt Harrison, Tim Kahrs, Marlin Murdoch, Roger Nelson, Toby tenBensel, Nelson Trambly, Clark Andrews, Dave Bartels. Nays 0. Absent 3 – Bill Bose, Terry Hoit, Brad Wulf.

Motion #4 Matt Harrison seconded by Tim Kahrs to approve variance request #216 for Dorene Hinrichs & Thomas & Susie Hitchcock. Motion carried. Ayes 8 - Matt Harrison, Tim Kahrs, Marlin Murdoch, Roger Nelson, Toby tenBensel, Nelson Trambly, Clark Andrews, Dave Bartels. Nays 0. Absent 3 – Bill Bose, Terry Hoit, Brad Wulf.

Seven Changes in Location of Certified Acres on Contiguous Property were presented to the board.

Motion #5 Tim Kahrs seconded by Toby tenBensel to approve All Change in Location of Certified Acres on Contiguous Property as presented: Kern Porter, Bart Woodward, Ben Bunger, Ron Fritson, Roger Volk, Steven L'Heureux, and James Olson. Motion carried. Ayes 8 - Tim Kahrs, Marlin Murdoch, Roger Nelson, Toby tenBensel, Nelson Trambly, Clark Andrews, Dave Bartels, Matt Harrison. Nays 0. Absent 3 – Bill Bose, Terry Hoit, Brad Wulf.

Comments from the public: None.

Mike Clements prepared a Letter to the Editor to the local papers. The board reviewed the letter and it was decided to not send in the letter.

Motion #6 by Nelson Trambly seconded by Dave Bartels to not submit the Letter to the Editor. Motion carried. Ayes 8 - Tim Kahrs, Marlin Murdoch, Roger Nelson, Toby tenBensel, Nelson Trambly, Clark Andrews, Dave Bartels, Matt Harrison. Nays 0. Absent 3 – Bill Bose, Terry Hoit, Brad Wulf.

NCORPE Update: Mike updated the board on the Esterman's Condemnation Hearing, complaint and injunction. All thirty wells are running.

NARD Report: Roger Nelson volunteered at the State Envirothon on May 3rd, it was held at the Crane Trust in Alda, NE.

Mike Clements updated the board on the Rural Water. The highway south of Red Cloud is under construction and the water line has been bored under the highway. The cost came in at \$12,000 less than the Engineer anticipated and the state will pick up about a third of that cost. Jo Siel and Scot Lennemann questioned the number of new hookups the Rural Water could handle. The contract indicates that the Rural Water cannot exceed 240,000 gallons per day. The daily usage average was figured and in August of 2013, 140,000 gallons was used. The system could run up to 300,000 gallons per day. Mike feels confident after contacting the Engineer, that we can continue adding new hookups. If need be, they could visit with the City of Franklin to modify the contract.

Motion #7 by Nelson Trambly seconded by Matt Harrison to approve the Rural Water Treasurer's report as presented. Motion carried. Ayes 8 - Marlin Murdoch, Roger Nelson, Toby tenBensel, Nelson Trambly, Clark Andrews, Dave Bartels, Matt Harrison, Tim Kahrs. Nays 0. Absent 3 – Bill Bose, Terry Hoit, Brad Wulf.

Motion #8 by Clark Andrews seconded by Tim Kahrs to move that the Board go into executive session at 7:54PM to discuss personnel and N-CORPE Litigation. Motion carried. Ayes 8 - Roger Nelson, Toby tenBensel, Nelson Trambly, Clark Andrews, Dave Bartels, Matt Harrison, Tim Kahrs, Marlin Murdoch. Nays 0. Absent 3 – Bill Bose, Terry Hoit, Brad Wulf.

Motion #9 by Nelson Trambly seconded by Roger Nelson move that the Board come out of Executive Session at 8:45PM and declare that no actions of the board, official or unofficial, were taken during said Closed Session. Motion carried. Ayes 8 - Toby tenBensel, Nelson Trambly, Clark Andrews, Dave Bartels, Matt Harrison, Tim Kahrs, Marlin Murdoch, Roger Nelson. Nays 0. Absent 3 – Bill Bose, Terry Hoit, Brad Wulf.

The next regularly scheduled board meeting will be June 12th, at 7:00PM at the Lower Republican NRD office.

Secretary

Date

Recorded and Distributed by: Shirlee Poyser, Administrative Assistant F:\Shirlee\Board Meeting Information\FY14 Agenda, Minutes\MINUTES FY14 5-8-14.docx